Telegram staff awarded at state press convention


CHEYENNE – Staff members from the Torrington Telegram attended and were honored with achievements at the 124th Annual Convention of the Wyoming Press Association at the Little America Hotel and Resort in Cheyenne last weekend. 

During the awards ceremony held Friday and Saturday night, staff writer A. Marie Hamilton was awarded a first-place Pacemaker Award for her in-depth reporting piece, “A look at school safety measures.” Sports Editor Andrew Towne was awarded two second-place Pacemaker Awards: one for his sports feature story, “Bobenmoyer hunts to recharge on bye week,” and a second for his open page design, “State Champions!”

During the convention, the Telegram staff attended a variety of classes taught by professionals in the journalism field.

Jesse Elsinger, Richard Brown, Sandra Fish, Fred Brown, Tom Hallman Jr., Tiffany Comer Cook, Ryan Dohrn, Dan Haley, Darlena Potter, Aaron Ontiveroz, Michael Smith, Bruce Motes and Dr. Beth Potter were among the speakers for the event, which took place Jan. 19-21.

The classes covered topics ranging from ethics in journalism to selling advertisements to creative writing to media law.